Water Rising | A Mixtape by Canon Blue

Water Rising | A Mixtape by Canon Blue

Water Rising | A Mixtape by Canon Blue

Download Water Rising | A Mixtape by Canon Blue

I know, I know, it’s been too long since I had a new mixtape on the site. Thankfully I have some cool folks writing me to see if they can make mixtapes for the site, and well, I took one of them up on their offer. You may remember Philip writing about a certain fella’ named Canon Blue, also known as Daniel James, who’s an awesome musician in his own right. When he wrote to see if he could make a mixtape, I absolutely took him up on his offer.

He’s created an awesome mixtape that I’m jealous I didn’t make, mostly because I couldn’t. I know two of the 12 songs on this mix, and I love all of them. It feels very much like right now, kind of the end of something, the seasons shifting from one to another. A lot of it is folk-y, there’s a lot of strings and guitar plucking. It’s a really bright feeling mix, which is why I made the cover you see above. If you’ve been in need of a new mix, or new music in general, I think you’ll be pretty happy with how this turned out.

Here’s the tracklist:

Apparat – “Ash Black”
Son Lux – “Chase”
Owen Pallet – “Midnight Directives”
Nico Muhly – “The Only Tune Pt. 3”
Muteson – “Water Rising”
Gotye – “Somebody That I Used to Know”
Murder – “Providence”
Valgeir Sigurdsson – “Hot Ground, Cold”
Stina Nordenstam – “The Morning Belongs to the Night”
Wildbirds & Peacedrums – “The Lake”
Brian Eno & John Cale – “Lay My Love”
The Magnetic Fields – “You Must Be Out of Your Mind”

September 26, 2011 / By