SANAA Wins the 2010 Pritzker Prize

This weekend it was announced that the architecture duo of SANAA, Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, were the winners of this years Pritzker Prize. The award, which was first given out in 1979, is given to “honor a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.”

I don’t know a great deal about these two but they’d honestly been popping up in a lot lately in the places I visit. I watched the video above a couple weeks ago in which they talk about the Rolex Learning Center, a campus they created in Switzerland. It’s a really beautiful building with sloping floors and an extremely open environment.

ArchDaily has a bunch of their projects which I’ll list below for you to check out:
Rolex Learning Center
The 2009 Serpentine Gallery Pavilion
Zollverein School of Management and Design


3 Comments SANAA Wins the 2010 Pritzker Prize

  1. bbb March 29, 2010 at 4:02 AM


  2. O March 29, 2010 at 4:16 PM

    Very disappointing selection, how have they contributed more than Steven Holl or OMA to architecture? Their ultra modern white buildings are no doubt nice, but the approach by Holl and OMA is far more significant in defining how architecture can be more than just a building and how it can affect those who use it. Both have far more significant built works as well.

  3. Chipotle March 29, 2010 at 5:15 PM

    I was cheering for Toyo Ito, he definitely deserves it

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *