Nothing You Can Touch | A Kitsune Noir Mixtape

It’s been a little over a month since the last mixtape, so I think you’re due for a new one. There won’t be a Mixcast this week, just this here Mixtape. It’s called Nothing You Can Touch, a Mixtape inspired by John Huges movies from the 80’s… but with a modern slant. Every song on here is from the last few years, if not brand new. But all of the songs definitely have an 80’s feel and vibe to them. Got it?

I was really inspired after seeing The Breakfast Club last month, and realized that I knew quite a few 80’s sounding songs, starting with Phoenix’s Girlfriend. From there I grabbed Bats for Lashes’ Daniel, of course Graveyard Girl by M83, and it just went from there. This is also one of the peppiest mixes I’ve ever made. Most of the time I make more somber Mixtapes (like the next one will be, it’s already ready to go).

Enjoy the mix, enjoy the last few warm days of the year, and I’ll be back with a new Mixcast next week and a new mixtape next month.

Here’s the track listing:

01 I Think I’ll Start A Fire by Faunts
02 Tree Frog by Daestro
03 Graveyard Girl by M83
04 Girlfriend by Phoenix
05 I Don’t Need Love, I’ve Got My Band by The Radio Dept.
06 Daniel by Bat for Lashes
07 Testament by Flying Lotus
08 Tell Me What To Swallow by Crystal Castles
09 Summertime by Girls
10 I Want You! by Peter Bjorn & John
11 Eyes As Candles by Passion Pit
12 Pretty in Pink by The National


41 Comments Nothing You Can Touch | A Kitsune Noir Mixtape

  1. yakayaka October 2, 2009 at 4:35 AM

    i’ve just had the worst day at work (i’m on the other side of the world’s why i’ve already finished my workday) and this cheered me right up. thanks!

  2. alexis October 2, 2009 at 4:59 AM

    Download link not working for me?

  3. Robert Telegramme October 2, 2009 at 6:00 AM

    best one yet bobby!
    amaazing. thanks

    Robert Telegramme

  4. Fabio October 2, 2009 at 6:07 AM

    Not working either….

  5. jon October 2, 2009 at 6:32 AM

    link not working for me either?

  6. rodrigo October 2, 2009 at 7:02 AM

    O link não está funcionando !!! thanks

  7. nadine October 2, 2009 at 7:23 AM

    Love Fridays! So much!

  8. Sam October 2, 2009 at 8:44 AM

    Not working for me either.

  9. Bobby October 2, 2009 at 10:11 AM

    Hey everyone, I’m sorry if the link isn’t working for you. Checking into Mediafire I can see it’s been downloaded a number of times, so keep trying if you get an error message.

    I’ll look into creating a mirror in the meantime. Sorry about the hassle!

  10. Jon Mutch October 2, 2009 at 10:14 AM

    Agreed. Best one yet!

  11. Peter October 2, 2009 at 10:52 AM

    Yay Deastro!

  12. Matt October 2, 2009 at 11:11 AM

    It’s no secret. This is my absolute favorite mix to-date. I will be dancing in my underwear to these songs all weekend.


  13. Alex October 2, 2009 at 11:59 AM

    This is everything I am listening to right now!
    Fantastic, thank you.

  14. Jeff October 2, 2009 at 12:20 PM

    So choice.

  15. Jon Sands October 2, 2009 at 1:21 PM

    What’s the track before 08 Tell Me What To Swallow? It’s definitely not flying lotus, which by the way, is nowhere in this mix. I think your tracklist is a little broken

  16. Jon Sands October 2, 2009 at 1:34 PM

    Ah! Thanks so much Bobby, I only had the original featuring Dolly, was pretty confused. My favorite mix yet by the way!

  17. Adam October 2, 2009 at 2:07 PM

    Beautiful artwork :)

  18. Natalie October 2, 2009 at 2:27 PM

    Best mixtape so far, going straight on my iPod. :)

  19. saers October 2, 2009 at 6:54 PM

    I always see the mixcast/mixtapes and i’ve never downloaded them until today. How glad I am I did!! That Radio Dept song is going to get some heavy playtime on my ‘pod this autumn!

  20. andy October 2, 2009 at 7:01 PM

    Best mixtape–amazing

  21. hm October 2, 2009 at 7:07 PM

    surprised you didnt put any la roux in, shes pretty good

  22. yitao October 3, 2009 at 7:20 AM

    thanks bobby, great music!

  23. suz October 3, 2009 at 1:03 PM

    Love!! Thank you for always being so generous with the awesomeness. :)

  24. Pedro Audirac October 4, 2009 at 2:06 PM

    The night with neon lights and a lonely moon…
    Wonderful mixtape! (one of your best so far…)

  25. Stef October 4, 2009 at 4:04 PM

    love these artists, and john huges is great! thanks a lot:D

  26. Genny October 4, 2009 at 8:05 PM

    So good! You really caught the feel of John Huges films I love it!

  27. Henry Vu October 5, 2009 at 12:27 AM

    goodness, another great mix. “As long as it’s with me” and “Be A Star And Fall Down Somewhere Next To Me” are my absolute favorites so far. This will quickly be joining them

  28. ZEE October 5, 2009 at 12:08 PM

    Hey: Justin LaFontaine last week and the Faunts this week. Alberta represent.

  29. Sam October 5, 2009 at 12:27 PM


  30. Juan October 5, 2009 at 8:04 PM

    Good :D

  31. Cristina October 6, 2009 at 8:23 AM

    i basically orgasmed all between bat for lashes and girls.

  32. X October 6, 2009 at 4:36 PM


  33. boo October 6, 2009 at 5:58 PM


  34. bert hodgson October 7, 2009 at 8:49 AM

    Thanks Bobby. I listened to this in the rain today in Plymouth, England.

  35. Pingback: » Blog Archive » Kitsune Noir Mix

  36. Pingback: Some pretty things on an otherwise dull wednesday night. «

  37. chanun October 18, 2009 at 2:45 AM

    Today’s been a great day because I stumbled upon your blog and mixtapes. Thank you for sharing!

  38. Anna November 28, 2009 at 5:08 AM

    I want you! by Peter Bjorn and John….BEAUTIFUL! When I first heard that song I would never have thought it was them, but now I heard the Swedish accent!! This is a lovely mixtape. I am now goignt o listen to the whole Peter Bjorn and John album. I dont really listen to them but now i will.

    thank you!

  39. Download Mixtapes January 21, 2010 at 11:11 AM

    This is everything I am listening to right now!
    thank you.

  40. Vale June 20, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    This is my favourite mix ever. The songs are just perfect for almost any time. Thanks you :)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *