Ceci N’est Pas Une Mixtape | A Kitsune Noir Mixtape

Ceci N’est Pas Une Mixtape | A Kitsune Noir Mixtape
Click here to download

It seems like so long since I’ve last posted a mix. But this is actually the first of many mixes to come in the next couple of months. To give you an idea, I have about 4 more mixes just waiting to be released, but they’ll be spaced out so as to not overwhelm anyone. Should be a fun summer!

So in honor of today being Bastille Day, I thought it was most fitting to release a little mix that was inspired by the idea of Paris called Ceci N’est Pas Une Mixtape. I thought the pun-y-ness of the title as rather cute, hopefully not too many of you aren’t groaning right now. This mix started out with Leaving for Paris No. 2 by Rufus Wainwright, a song that’s about leaving someone and not wanting them to find you.

From there it kind of fell together like a tragic love story. Boy meets girl, he has trouble trying to woo her, and in the end it doesn’t work out and he tries to get away from her by moving to Paris. While I don’t know if it really plays out like that, it’s at least the story that’s in my mind. A whirlwind romance that you’ll never forget.

Here’s the track listing:

01 Strizzalo by Devotchka
02 Les Champs Elysees by Joe Dassin
03 My Sentimental Melody by The Magnetic Fields
04 Cherbourg by Beirut
05 This is the Dream of Emma and Cam by Final Fantasy
06 September 5, October 21 2007 by Years
07 The Last Laugh of the Laughter by Travis
08 Universe by S├ębastian Tellier
09 La Dispute by Yann Tiersen
10 Leaving for Paris No. 2 by Rufus Wainwright


July 14, 2009