‘Dumb Luck’ by Dntel

'Dumb Luck' by Dntel

I forgot that this album had come out altogether, but I was excited when Jeff reminded me of it. Dntel has been making music for quite a while now, and I think a lot of people might even recognize his name at this point. A lot of people would know him better as Jimmy Tamborello, who is the other half of the indie-pop super-group, The Postal Service. His new album, Dumb Luck, has been in the works for five years now, being distracted by about a billion side projects.

I have to say it was well worth the wait. The list of guests on the album alone is worth a few raised eyebrows. There’s Jenny Lewis (Rilo Kiley), Edward Droste (Grizzly Bear), Valerie Trebeljahr and Markus Acher of Lali Puna, Mia Doi Todd, Grant Olsen and Sonya Westcott (Arthur & Yu), Andrew Broder (Fog), Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes) and Christopher and Jennifer Gunst (Mystic Chords of Memory). The only song that doesn’t have a guest vocalist is the first, which is handled by Mr. Tamborello himself.

If you’re a fan of The Postal Service, this is definitely one to pick up. Lots of beautiful vocals with complex beats and instrumentation to back it up.


June 19, 2007